March 2008 Home   Newsletters

April 2008

May 2008

Annual Meeting Report (Piilani Kaopuiki)
Initiative Tries to Stop Rail (Charles Carole)
No Consensus Pro or Con for LWV Honolulu (Jean Aoki)
Welcome New Members
Voter Service (Arlene Ellis)
Vote Count (Arlene Ellis)
Guest Speaker Saved Kawainui Marsh (Elizabeth Reilly)
Calendar of Events

Initiative Tries to Stop Rail

The Mayor says transit decisions stop with him, the City Council says it stops with them, and now Oahu Voters have the chance to definitely make the final decision on trains or rail transit through the initiative process. Let the people decide and forget the politicians.

The initiative says:

Be it ordained by the people of the City and County of Honolulu:

“Trains, and rail transit shall not be built in the City & County of Honolulu.” As registered voters, we approve this proposed ordinance to prohibit construction of train transit in Honolulu.

40,000 and more signatures are needed on the petitions to put the question on the November general election ballot. Voting against rail can prevent the wasting of billions and billions of YOUR tax dollars on building and maintaining a Rail Transit system that even the Mayor admits will NOT help traffic. The Honolulu Star-Bulletin on Friday, April 18, 2008 on Page A6 listed contractors and subcontractors which ran down 14.5 inches of the newspaper column: approximately 75 companies and individuals. Individuals like Norman Mineta, former U.S. Secretary of Transportation ($120,000 for a year) and John DeSoto, former City Councilman ($150,000). Their contracts can be renewed. For most major transit projects in the United States, the politicians ask the PEOPLE to vote on whether they wanted the transit projects or not. But in Honolulu, the PEOPLE are only asked to pay through taxes for transit projects. Only the Politicians decide on the type of transit.

This initiative petition will give the PEOPLE the power to decide on transit. POWER to the PEOPLE.

Charles Carole

March 2008 Top   Home   Newsletters May 2008