March 1968 Home   Newsletters

April 1968

May 1968

State Convention - Saturday, April 20, 1968
Hawaii Nei Today - Know Your City, its Resources and Needs
President's Page (Elaine Vik)
Resolution (Discussion Units)
Annual Meeting Report
Local Agenda Committee - The Latest on Diamond Head
Foreign Policy (Virginia Bogard)
Voters Service (Helen Tamashiro)
Job Corps (Elsie Jordan)
Honolulu's Manpower Outlook 1965-1970
Your State League in Action!
LWV-Honolulu Board of Directors, 1968-1969
Proposed State Bylaw Changes
New Members
Let's Talk Government and League

[Annual Meeting Report]

Once more the League of Women Voters of Honolulu has concluded an Anmnual Meeting. It was with regret we watched our very capable president, Mary George, preside at her last meeting. The League has been very busy these past two years with a record of solid achievement under the leadership of Mary and for this we that her.

On March 29th the members voted for three changes in the by-laws.

(1) ARTICLE IV, Sec. 1 - Number: Manner of Selection and Term of Office. The Board of Directors shall consist of the officers of the League, eight elected Directors and not more than eight appointed Directors. Four Directors shall be elected by the general membership at each Annual Meeting and shall serve for a term of two years, or until their successors have been elected and qualified. The elected members shall appoint such additional Directors, not exceeding eight, as they deem necessary to carry on the work of the League. The terms of office of the appointed Directors shall be one year and shall expire at the conclusion of the next Annual Meeting.

(2) ARTICLE V, Sec. 1 - Enumeration and Election of officers.

The Officers of the League of Women Voters of Honolulu shall be a President, a first Vice President, a second Vice President, a Secretary and a Treasurer. All officers shall he elected for terms of two years by the general membership at the Annual Meeting and take office immediately. The President, the first Vice President and the Secretary shall be elected in odd-numbered years. The second Vice President and the Treasurer shall be elected in even-numbered years.

(3) ARTICLE VI, Sec. 2 - Dues. Annual dues of $10.00, including subscription service, shall he payable April first. Any member who fails to pay her dues by October first shall be dropped from the membership rolls.

ADOPTED A LOCAL PROGRAM: The City and County of Honolulu: A study of how local government functions.

AND ELECTED SOME NEW OFFICERS. Elaine Vik, as our outstanding membership chairman (look at the growth figure) and first V.P. is known by all League members. We welcome her to the presidency of the League and pledge to her our help in the year ahead. It will be an extremely busy one with 3 elections. Her right hand will be Fran McLeod, Voters' Service Chairman and the new first V.P. Ann Machovina will anchor at 2nd V.P. in charge of program same as last year while Vera Stern as secretary keeps the record straight. Mary Louise Garcia has taken over the books as treasurer from Margaret Wright who filled out an unexpired term. (How about sending in your dues to $10.00 to Mary Louise today?? Home address is 6275 Upolo Place - Honolulu 96821) There are other new faces both elected and appointed on the Board - See page 4)

If you didn't attend the luncheon you missed an excellent and provocative speech by Durell Douthit. We will be hearing more from this young attorney with Legal Aid during the coming year. Mahalo to Louise Marr end Audrey Klein for the arrangements for meeting, luncheon and speaker.

March 1968 Top   Home   Newsletters May 1968