October 1988 Home   Newsletters

November 1988

January 1989

December General Meeting
Consensus Meeting - Honolulu LWV Initiative and Referendum Study
Proposals for 1989's Program
In Memoriam
Urgent! Help Needed for Vote Count
Speak Out, Hawaii
Nominations for Board
500-Foot High Convention Center
Up-Date on City Council
Consensus Position - Federal Agriculture Policy
Channel 20
Speakers' Bureau
Announcements

Urgent! Help Needed for Vote Count

As our President, Arlene Ellis, stated in her President's Message in the October issue of the Voter, our biggest vote count, the Local 5 election, is scheduled for January 10 and 11. It will be held at the Waikiki Community Center at 310 Paokalani Avenue beginning at 8:00 a.m. each day.

The sorting and checking of the returned ballot envelopes will commence on December 26 and continue through January 9 at the League office except for January 7 when on-site balloting will be conducted at the Waikiki Community Center. We will need at least 6 volunteers working each day at the office, and at least 30 people on each of the Vote Count days, January 10 and 11.

The need is URGENT. Please sign up for as many days as you can -- even if for a few hours. We're counting on many of you to sign up for both of the vote count days. For those of you who have never been to our office, we're located on the 3rd floor of the Empire Bldg on the Makai side of Hotel Street between the Fort Street Mall and Bethel Street. Come meet your fellow Leaguers and take a look at our office. Listed below are the dates of the Vote Count. Please check your schedules and call the office at 531-7448 to sign up. Mahalo.

December 26 (Monday)
December 27 (Tuesday)
December 28 (Wednesday)
December 29 (Thursday)
December 30 (Friday)
December 31 (Saturday)

January 2 (Monday)
January 3 (Tuesday)
January 4 (Wednesday)
January 5 (Thursday)
January 6 (Friday)
January 7 (Saturday) WCC
January 9 (Monday)
January 10 (Tuesday) WCC
January 11 (Wednesday) WCC


October 1988 Home   Newsletters January 1989